Psalm 78:1-7

Psalm 78:1-7
Give ear, O my people, to my teaching;
incline your ears to the words of my mouth.
I will open my mouth in a parable;
I will utter dark sayings from of old,
things that we have heard and known,
that our ancestors have told us.
We will not hide them from their children;
we will tell to the coming generation
the glorious deeds of the Lord, and his might, and the wonders that he has done.
He established a decree in Jacob, and appointed a law in Israel,
which he commanded our ancestors to teach to their children;
that the next generation might know them, the children yet unborn,
and rise up and tell them to their children, so that they should set their hope in God,
and not forget the works of God, but keep his commandments;

*****
Like most psalms this part of Psalm 78 instructs us to tell others, especially the coming generation, all about the wonderful deeds of God. What I appreciate is how it talks of telling the “dark sayings from of old.”

Sometimes what we need to know is not light and fluffy and can make the God of grace and love appear harsh and unsavory. But just because the stories are “dark sayings from of old” does not mean they can’t apply to our lives. Sometimes those things that are hard to stomach challenge and change us the most.
What does it make you think of?

Leave a comment